# **Committee on Undergraduate Core Education**

# Terms of reference

- 1. To advise and make recommendations to the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies on policies and regulations, and to monitor and review procedures, quality and performance relating to the university core curriculum of undergraduate degree programs, including, but not limited to:
  - (a) developing policies and regulations relating to the university core curriculum of undergraduate degree programs;
  - (b) developing guiding principles, criteria and learning outcomes for common core courses consistent with the objectives of the university core curriculum;
  - (c) reviewing and approving courses for inclusion in the University Common Core Program;
  - (d) coordinating and providing an overview of the offering of courses and activities for the university core curriculum;
  - (e) monitoring and reviewing periodically the quality of common core courses and the University Common Core Program under a quality assurance framework; and
  - (f) recommending implementation and other support for the university core curriculum.
- 2. To oversee and recommend implementation of the University Common Core Program during the transition period from the existing 36-credit distributional framework to the new 30-credit scaffolding framework.

# **Powers**

- 1. To co-opt such additional voting members as may be required but not exceeding one-third of formal membership of the Committee.
- 2. To form any working groups as considered necessary.

# Membership

### Chair:

Nominated by the Provost and appointed by the Chair of the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies

Professor Garvin Percy DIAS

#### Member and Secretary:

Academic Director (Undergraduate Core Education), ex officio

Professor Sai Lok NAM

#### Members:

- 1. One representative from each of the Schools of Science, Engineering, and Business and Management to be nominated by the Deans and appointed by the Chair of the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
  - Professor Bradley FOREMAN, School of Science
  - Professor Raymond WONG, School of Engineering
  - Professor Jeevan JAISINGH, School of Business & Management
- 2. One representative from each of the two Divisions of the School of Humanities and Social Science to be nominated by the Dean of Humanities and Social Science and appointed by the Chair of the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
  - Dr Isaac DROSCHA, Division of Humanities
  - Professor Agnes KU, Division of Social Science
- 3. One representative from the Center for Language Education to be nominated by the Dean of Humanities and Social Science and appointed by the Chair of the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
  - Ms Jessie LAM

- 4. One representative from the Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies to be nominated by the Director of the Academy of Interdisciplinary Studies and appointed by the Chair of the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
  - Professor Arthur LAU
- 5. One non-first-year undergraduate student representative to be nominated by the relevant student body and appointed by the Chair of the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
  - Mr Ching Yuen CHAN
- 6. One member of the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies appointed by the Chair of the Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
  - Professor Frederick FONG

### Resource Persons:

- 1. Associate Provost (T&L)
  - Professor Jimmy FUNG
- 2. Dean of Students
  - Professor Pak Wo LEUNG
- 3. Academic Registrar
  - Mr James PRINCE

### Term:

For the student member, one year, renewable For others, two years, renewable